Piano Masters Series: Murray McLachlan

Seully Hall
8 Fenway, Floor 4
Boston, MA

One of England’s most illustrious and active pianists, Murray McLachlan has performed on five continents and released more than 40 recordings, including the complete Sonatas of Beethoven, Prokofiev, and Miaskovsky; the concertos of Alexander Tcherepnin; the 24 Preludes and Fugues of Rodion Shchedrin; and the major works of Kabalevsky and Khachaturian. He writes prolifically, is a professor at the Royal Northern College of Music, and runs Europe’s largest piano festival, Chetham’s International Summer School. Read McLachlan’s full biography.

CHOPIN: 24 Preludes, op. 28
RONALD STEVENSON: Pensees sur les Preludes de Chopin (1958) U.S. Premiere
FINZI-MCLACHLAN: Three Bagatelles (2016) U.S. Premiere
NIKOLAI MYASKOVSKY: Sonata No .1 in D Minor

McLachlan will present a piano master class to Conservatory students on Wednesday, April 12, from 4:00 p.m. to 6:00 p.m. in Seully Hall; this event is free and open to the public.

Michael Lewin, Artistic Director


Ticket Information

This event has passed. See Events listing for upcoming events.
PDF icon Poster - Piano Masters Series: Murray McLachlan, 04/11