Piano Masters Series: Phillip Bush

This event has passed.
Please see the events listing for upcoming events.
8 Fenway, Floor 4
United States

Boston Conservatory at Berklee’s 2019–2020 Piano Masters Series kicks off with acclaimed American pianist Phillip Bush.

Known as "a pianist of poetry, elegance, and power" (American Record Guide), "a pianist of exceptional, cherishable finesse" (Los Angeles Times), and "one of those rare pianists who combine structural intelligence with a hundred color gradations" (Village Voice), Bush has led a three-decade performance career defined by his musical versatility and eclecticism and vast concert repertoire spanning the 16th through the 21st centuries. He performed worldwide for 20 years with both the Philip Glass Ensemble and Steve Reich and Musicians. Read Bush’s full bio.

Bush’s fascinating all-American program, "PianoUSA1919," is anchored by Charles Ives’s monumental “Concord” Sonata.

ARTHUR FOOTE: Selections from Five Silhouettes, op. 73
CHARLES GRIFFES: The White Peacock
LEO ORNSTEIN: Suicide in an Airplane
MARION BAUER: Selections from Six Preludes, op. 15
HENRY COWELL: “The Tides of Manaunaun”
CHARLES IVES: Piano Sonata No. 2, “Concord, Mass., 1840–1860"

Michael Lewin, artistic director

Piano Masters Series is a recital series celebrating the art of great piano playing, featuring acclaimed artists from around the world.