String Masters Series: Misha Amory, Viola

This event has passed.
Please see the events listing for upcoming events.
Event Dates
Sunday / October 17, 2021 / 7:00 pm
Seully Hall
8 Fenway, Floor 4
United States

1991 Naumburg Viola Award winner and Brentano String Quartet violist Misha Amory returns to the String Masters Series with pianist Thomas Sauer to perform a program that includes Amory’s own transcription of the Bach Violin/Harpsichord Sonata No. 3 as well as works by Hindemith, Bax, and Garth Knox. Amory is active as soloist, chamber musician, and teacher serving on the faculties of the Juilliard School and Curtis Institute of Music.

J.S. BACH: Violin/Keyboard Sonata No. 3 (arranged for viola by Misha Amory)
PAUL HINDEMITH: Solo Sonata, op. 11, no. 5
GARTH KNOX: Quartet for One
ARNOLD BAX: Sonata for viola and piano

Andrew Mark, artistic director

String Masters Series is a recital series celebrating the art of great string playing, featuring acclaimed artists from around the world.

Special thanks to all audience members for viewing this concert program online. Viewing this information digitally has saved 130 sheets of paper—that's 14 gallons of water preserved and 12 pounds of CO2-equivalent greenhouse gas emissions eliminated.